Month: February 2013

Changes in Our Leadership

Date Issued:

I am pleased to welcome three new members to our CCOHS Council of Governors. Sari Sairanen (CAW), Stephen Mansell (Government of Nunavut) and Helder Botelho (AOC Resins) will be attending their first official Council meeting in March. They are an accomplished group that will bring a wealth of knowledge and expertise to our Council and I look forward to relying on their valued input as they help us meet the challenges ahead.

The new Council members are replacing three long-time members who have completed their terms.  CCOHS extends its appreciation and bids a fond farewell to Nancy Hutchinson (USW), Jean Dalton (Dofasco-Arcelor Mittal) and Stuart MacLean (WCB Nova Scotia).  We are grateful for their years of service and contribution toward our success as a global leader in the prevention of occupational injury and illness.

New Council of Governors members:

Sari Sairanen is the Director of Health and Safety at the Canadian Auto Workers (CAW) union. She has held various positions in the health and safety and labour relations sectors of the CAW, including Bargaining Committee Representative; Vice-President, Western Region; and Co-Chair of the Joint Health and Safety Committee.

Stephen Mansell is currently Director of Policy and Planning at the Department of Justice for the Government of Nunavut a former City Councillor of the city of Iqaluit and a prominent lawyer with extensive experience serving the community in Northern Canada

Helder Botelho is a Plant Manager at AOC Resins and Coatings in Guelph, Ontario.  He is a former Chair of the Board of the Industrial Accident and Prevention Association and a current member of the Canadian Education and Training Commission.