Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

>Recognition & Awards

CCOHS Governor Sophie Dennis receives Amethyst Award - Ontario's highest recognition for career contribution in public service

" I was extremely pleased to learn of the Ontario government's decision to present Sophie Dennis with the Amethyst award," said Steve Horvath, President and Chief Operating Officer, CCOHS. " This award recognizes not only her considerable achievements, but also her character and leadership qualities," he added.

" Her work for the Ontario Ministry of Labour, as well as her collaborative efforts on the Council of Governors, has established her as an ambassador for labour standards and occupational health and safety in Ontario, and enhanced labour and safety program exposure for all workers in Canada."


Eleanor Westwood, Manager of Communications at CCOHS, has been awarded the prestigious Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, given to Canadian citizens who have demonstrated distinguished service to their fellow citizens, their community and their country.

[More >]

Picture of Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal


Picture of Flora Simpson

Two CCOHS employees were recognized for having volunteered for the United Way for over 20 years. Flora Simpson, Technical Specialist,and Steve Angelo, Programmer Analyst were given plaques honouring their dedication.

[More >]

Picture of Steve Angelo


Dr. P.K. Abeytunga, Vice-President and Director General of the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) will receive the 2012 APEX Award for Career Contribution, presented by the Association of the Professional Executives of the Public Service of Canada and the Certified General Accountants Association of Canada.

[More >]