Scholarships Awarded to Occupational Health and Safety Students

HAMILTON, ON (May 7, 2012) - The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) announced the three recipients of the 2012 Dick Martin Scholarship Award. CCOHS offers this annual, national award to post-secondary students enrolled in occupational health and safety programmes in Canada, to foster interest in the field of workplace health and safety.

CCOHS awarded the three $3,000 scholarships to Jennifer Hogan (Newfoundland), Heather Young (Newfoundland) and Peter Wowchuk (Alberta). Each of the recipients expressed an interest in understanding more about occupational health and safety that could improve workplace conditions and help prevent injuries and illnesses.

“We were very pleased with the passion for health and safety each of the applicants exhibited this year and believe the three winners will make a unique contribution to the future of health and safety in Canadian workplaces,” said Steve Horvath, CCOHS President and CEO. “CCOHS is pleased to support Jennifer, Heather and Peter in their endeavours in health and safety.”

In the spring of 2002, CCOHS’ Council of Governors established an occupational health and safety scholarship fund in the memory of Dick Martin, a past Governor on the CCOHS Council and a pioneer of workplace health and safety in Canada. As part of the evaluation criteria for the award, applicants submitted essays on topics related to their area of study in occupational health and safety and were judged on their knowledge of the subject matter.

More information about the Dick Martin Scholarship Award is available on the CCOHS website.  



To request additional information, schedule an interview, or receive copies of media releases and advisories, please contact us.