Recipients of Occupational Health and Safety Scholarship Award Announced

May 21, 2020 – Hamilton, ON – Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS)

Today, the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) announced the winners of the Dick Martin Scholarship Award. The two recipients, Jessee Kuhar (University of New Brunswick), and Verna Liezl Perdon (Mohawk College) will each be awarded $3,000. In addition, their respective academic institutions will each receive $500.

Each year, the Dick Martin Scholarships are awarded to post-secondary students enrolled in either a full-time or part-time program leading to an occupational health and safety certificate, diploma, or degree from an accredited Canadian college or university. They are intended to support interest in and encourage the pursuit of careers in the field of occupational health and safety. Scholarship winners are selected by a panel of technical specialists based on criteria that include submitting an essay on injury prevention or research on a specific hazard and risk.

More information about the Dick Martin Scholarship Award can be found on the CCOHS website:

Stay Connected

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and LinkedIn

To request additional information, schedule an interview, or receive copies of media releases and advisories, please contact us.