New Brunswick Student Wins First Place in National Video Contest

May 8, 2017 – Hamilton, ON – Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS)

Today, the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) announced the winners of the national Focus on Safety Youth Video Contest:

First place: “The Eye”
Zach MacMillan-Kenny
Riverview High School
New Brunswick

Second place: “Know Your Limits”
Ben MacMillan and Jacob MacDonald
Morell Regional High School
Prince Edward Island

Third place: “Your Right to Set Things Right”
Rain Cahigas
Daniel McIntyre Collegiate Institute

Fan Favourite: “Focus on Safety”
Shannen Garibay and Maria Himbeault
Clavet Composite School

The video contest challenged high school students across the country to use their creativity to produce an original video that could be used in social media to illustrate to younger workers the importance of working safely on the job. Contestants and their schools had a chance to win cash prizes, provincial/territorial and national recognition, and national entrants were also eligible to win the Fan Favourite award.

Eleven entries were accepted for national consideration from provincial and territorial contests. The videos entered into the national contest were judged by a panel of judges representing leadership of national organizations: Gareth Jones, President and Chief Executive Officer of CCOHS; Shirley Hickman, Executive Director of Threads of Life; and Perry Ruehlen, Executive Director of the Canadian Society of Safety Engineering (CSSE).

The winning video of the national contest was shown at the national launch of North American Occupational Safety and Health (NAOSH) Week in Ottawa, Ontario. In addition, the public were invited to vote online for their Fan Favourite among the entries. Voting took place via CCOHS’ Young Workers Zone website and Facebook page.

The winners and links to all of the winning videos are posted on the Young Workers Zone:

Quick Facts

  • The entries for the national video contest are composed of the first place winners of the provincial and territorial contests which were held from September 2016 to April 2017.
  • Winners of the national judging category received $2,000 for first place, $1,500 for second place and $1,000 for third place, and each winning school received a matching prize.
  • The winner of the Fan Favourite category received $1,000.
  • The online Fan Favourite voting contest was held from April 29 to May 5, 2017 via CCOHS’ Young Workers Zone and Facebook page.
  • The Canadian public was invited to vote for their favourite video from among the eleven entries.

Stay Connected

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Google+ and LinkedIn

To request additional information, schedule an interview, or receive copies of media releases and advisories, please contact us.